Sunday, May 3, 2009

EFP Names 23 Outstanding Producers On The Move in Cannes

European Film Promotion (EFP) announces its 10th lineup of PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE at the Cannes International Film Festival (13-24 May, 2009)

EFP's goal is to support producer networking on a European level and attract the attention of the international film industry and press. Funded by the MEDIA Programme of the European Union, the EFP member organizations have established a label and a platform to make new contacts.

EFP producers in the festival itself include Official Selection/ Special Screening of Jaffa coproduced by Emmanuel Agneray (Bizibi) for France, Critics Week short film Party (Tulum) coproduced by Ankija Juric Tilic, and the Directors Fortnight short film History of Aviation produced by Emmanuel Agneray.

This year, the EFP members have selected 23 up-and-coming, independent producers who have already made a mark with their outstanding productions in their home countries and at film festivals, but are still at the beginning of their international careers. A representative from Croatia is also taking part for the first time. In the past 10 years 196 PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE have been selected.

Aside from various roundtable discussions of themes, planning and financing of current and future projects, EFP is inviting all of the participants from the previous years to the traditional Producers Lunch.

For many producers, the conversations with colleagues have led to concrete co-productions such as Macdara Kelleher of Fastnet Films, PRODUCER ON THE MOVE 2008 from Ireland, who will produce The Runway by Ian Power in July with Bernard Michaux of Lucil Film (Luxembourg) and Nothing Personal by Urszula Antoniak with Reinier Selen of Rinkel Film & TV Productions (The Netherlands).

Renate Rose, EFP Managing Director states "There are again some very interesting producers travelling with us to Cannes who have worked on a broad spectrum of films, from feature films through animation films to documentaries.” They include, for example, the young German Janine Jackowski of Komplizen Film. Her production Everyone Else (Alle Anderen, dir: Maren Ade) won the Grand Jury Prize (Silver Bear) at this year's Berlinale, and the FIPRESCI and “Best Director” at the Buenos Aires International Film Festval. Another participant will be the Croat Ankica Jurić Tilić of Kinorama, whose audience success Kino Lika (dir: Dalibor Matanić) has just won the Golden Olive Award for “Best Film” at the Festival of European Cinema in Lecce/Italy.

The following producers were selected by EFP member organizations:

Alexander Glehr, Novotny & Novotny Filmproduktion (selected by Austrian Film Commission)
Kleine Fische by Marco Antoniazzi

Ilian Djevelekov, Miramar Film (selected by National Film Centre, Bulgaria)
Zift by Javor Gardev

Ankica Jurić Tilić, Kinorama (selectec by Croatian Audiovisual Centre)
Kino Lika by Dalibor Matanić

Czech Republic:
Monika Kristl, Dawson Production (selected by Czech Film Centre)
3 Seasons in Hell by Tomás Masín

Christian Potalivo, M&M Productions (selected by Danish Film Institute)
The Lost Treasure of the Knight's Templar: The Mystery of the Snake Crown by Giacomo Campeotto

Katrin Kissa, Homeless Bob Production (selected by Baltic Films)
Autumn Ball by Veiko Ounpuu

Matti Halonen, FS Film Oy (selected by Finnish Film Foundation)
8 Days to Permier by Perttu Leppä

Emmanuel Agneray, Bizibi (selected by Unifrance)
Jaffa by Keren Yedaya

Janine Jackowski, Komplizen Film GmbH (selected by German Films)
Everyone Else by Maren Ade

Gábor Sipos, Laokoon Filmgroup (selected by Magyar Filmunió/ Hungary)
Happy New Life by Árpád Bogdán

Gudrún Edda Thorhannesdottir, Spellbound Productions (selected by Icelandic Film Centre)
Country Wedding by Valdís Óskarsdóttir

Andrew Freedman, Venom Film (selected by Irish Film Board)
His & Hers by Ken Wardrop

Giorgia Priolo, Film Kairòs (selected by Filmitalia)
Black Sea by Federico Bondi

The Netherlands:
Carmen Cobos, Cobos Films b.v. (selected by Holland Film)
El Olvido by Heddy Honigmann

Yngve Sæther, Motlys AS (selected by Norwegian Film Institute)
The Man Who Loved Yngve by Stian Kristiansen

Andrzej Jakimowski, Zjednoczii Artystów i Rzemieślników (ZAiR) (selected by Polish Film Institute)
Tricks by Andrzej Jakimowski

Rodrigo Areias, Bando à Parte (selected by ICA I.P./Portugal)
Tebas by Rodrigo Areias

Daniel Mitulescu, Strada Film (selected by Romanian Film Promotion)
The Way I Spent the End of the World by Catalin Mitulescu

Slovak Republic:
Peter Kerekes (selected by Slovak Film Institute)
Cooking History by Peter Kerekes

Eva Rohrman, Forum Ljubljana (selected by Slovenian Film Fund)
Landscape No. 2 by Vinko Moderndörfer

Koldo Zuazua, Alicia Produce, S.L. (selected by ICAA/ Spain)
Me Too by Antonio Naharro & Alvaro Pastor

Erik Hemmendorff, Plattform Produktion AB (selected by Swedish Film Institute)
Involuntary by Ruben Östlund

United Kingdom:
Adrian Sturges, Picture Farm (selected by British Council)
The Escapist by Rupert Wyatt

Jo Mühlberger, Project Manager, +49 40- 390 6252

Mareen Gerisch, Press, +49 40- 390 6252

No comments:

Post a Comment